Machu Picchu: the mystery of the secret chamber

If the greatest secret of Machu Picchu had finally been discovered?

The story begins in 2010, when David Crespy, a French engineer on holiday in Peru, thought he had by chance, discovered a “secret door”  at the foot of one of the Machu Picchu main temples. But in Peru, no payed attention to him. In 2011, he took contact with the French explorer Thierry Jamin. Skeptical at first, he was soon convinced of Crespy’s discovery. He formulated an hypothesis about the presence of burial chambers still intact, in the heart of the Inca citadel.

In April 2012, Jamin and his group got the go-ahead from the Peruvian Ministry of Culture to perform electromagnetic resonances at the supposed site of the funeral site. They soon discovered the existence of a staircase, leading to a quadrangular room, then to a dozen of cavities with human dimensions. Probably graves. But they also discovered the presence of large deposits of non-ferrous metal objects (silver and / or gold). Bingo ! David Crespy was right. This is a major discovery. Perhaps the Inca Pachacútec mausoleum, the founder of Machu Picchu … but above all,  of the Inca Empire !

Output planned for 2021 – Expected duration: 1h30 – Format: HD

On September 5th 2012, Peruvian authorities acknowledged officially the discovery made by Thierry Jamin and the Inkari Institute. But the affair began a little complicated when Thierry presented a new project, whose goal would be to open the famous entrance..

In early 2013, the headmaster of the Machu Picchu Sanctuary, in collusion with the regional director of the Ministry of Culture (later dismissed and prosecuted for corruption), tried by all means to prevent this new project. Then they generated a brutal campaign of controversy against Thierry Jamin, where accusations, insults and false rumors were used. Death threats soon increased at the French explorer home. He was called “false archaeologist” and accused of wanting to “destroy Machu Picchu”. The case became political. The President of the Republic, Ollanta Umala, took a stand and the French current government  had to intervene…

This incredible and unlikely story was fully followed and filmed by Jungle Doc Productions cameramen.

Entitled “Machu Picchu and the secret chamber mystery”, this ninety minutes documentary film, with an original and overwhelming music by Michel Wiklacz, tells the story of this incredible discovery, made in the heart of one of the most famous archaeological sites of the planet. It also tells  the  story of the Inca Empire, the arrival of the Spanish conquistadors, that will lead to the fall of this civilization, and the mystery of the disappearance of all the royal mummies, including that of Pachacútec. It’s a real adventure film that will fascinate lovers of that type of movies.

Currently being edited, this documentary film will be available in 2020.

Machu Picchu: le mystère de la chambre secrète

Et si le plus grand secret de Machu Picchu venait enfin d’être découvert ?

L’histoire commence en 2010, lorsque David Crespy, un ingénieur français en vacances au Pérou, pense avoir découvert, par hasard, une “porte secrète” au pied de l’un des principaux temples de Machu Picchu. Mais au Pérou, personne ne l’écoute. En 2011, il contacte l’explorateur français Thierry Jamin. D’abord sceptique, celui-ci est bientôt convaincu de la découverte de Crespy. Il émet l’hypothèse de la présence de chambres funéraires toujours intactes, au cœur de la citadelle inca.

En avril 2012, Jamin et son groupe obtiennent le feu vert du Ministère péruvien de la Culture pour effectuer des résonances électromagnétiques à l’endroit supposé du site funéraire. Ils découvrent bientôt l’existence d’un escalier, conduisant à une salle quadrangulaire, puis à une dizaine de cavités de dimensions humaines. Sans doute des tombes. Mais ils découvrent aussi la présence d’importants dépôts d’objets métalliques non ferreux (argent et/ou or). Bingo ! David Crespy avait vu juste. Il s’agit d’une découverte majeure. Peut-être le mausolée de l’Inca Pachacútec, le fondateur de Machu Picchu… mais surtout de l’Empire Inca !

Sortie prévue en 2021 – Durée prévue : 1h30 – Format : HD

Le 05 septembre 2012, les autorités péruviennes reconnaissent officiellement la découverte réalisée par Thierry Jamin et l’Institut Inkari. Mais l’affaire se corse quand Thierry presente un nouveau projet dont l’objectif sera d’ouvrir la fameuse entrée.

Début 2013, le responsable du Sanctuaire de Machu Picchu, en collusion avec le directeur régional du Ministère de la Culture (plus tard destitué et poursuivit pour corruption), cherchent par tous les moyens à empêcher ce nouveau projet. Ils génèrent alors une brutale campagne de polémiques contre Thierry Jamin, où les accusations, les insultes et les fausses rumeurs seront employées. Des menaces de mort arrivent bientôt au domicile de l’explorateur français. On le traite de “faux archéologue” et on l’accuse de vouloir “détruire Machu Picchu”. L’affaire devient politique. Le président de la République, Ollanta Umala, prend position et le gouvernement français de l’époque doit intervenir…

Cette histoire incroyable et rocambolesque fut intégralement suivie, et filmée, par les cameramen de Jungle Doc Productions.

Intitulé “Machu Picchu et le mystère de la chambre secrète”, ce film documentaire d’1h30, sur une musique originale et bouleversante de Michel Wiklacz, relate l’histoire de cette incroyable découverte, réalisée au cœur de l’un des sites archéologiques les plus célèbres de la planète. Il raconte aussi l’histoire de l’Empire inca, l’arrivée des conquistadors espagnols qui entraînera la chute de cette civilisation et le mystère de la disparition de toutes les momies royales, dont celle de Pachacútec. C’est un vrai film d’aventures qui passionnera les amoureux du genre.

Actuellement en cours de montage, ce film-documentaire sera disponible courant 2020.